006/366

Standard

This morning we went to a park that I used to play in as a child. They have updated it since I was last there, but as I sat watching my little ones play I remembered myself and my brother sliding down the big slide that used to be there. And now here I am with my own pair of siblings and it is amazing to think that much time has passed by.

Hannah must have sensed that I was feeling retrospective as she began talking to me about the fact that she will be 4 this year and Blake will be 2. I became a bit emotional at hearing this, how did my babies grow so fast? How is it that every day seems so slow to end but all of a sudden a whole week has gone, and then a month, and then a year! That was part of my motivation for this project, I need to slow down and appreciate the beauty in the everyday. And you know what? I am finding there is more beauty in the everyday than I thought was possible.

Their love was obvious from the moment they met. I could capture photos like this many times every day, they love to play together, to laugh together and to be together. I am truly, truly blessed.

That butterfly t-shirt was a $5 special from Kmart and yet for some reason you adore it! It was hiding at Grandma and Grandpa’s house and yesterday while Daddy and I were at the movies they looked after you and Blake. You had a bath there and Grandma dressed you in your favourite shirt. Weren’t you ecstatic! You had to tell me all about the butterfly shirt that was lost and found when we came to pick you up. I’m glad your butterfly shirt makes you happy, but somehow I think we’ll have a fight on our hands when it needs to go into the wash later today ;).

Oh Blakey boy, today you were walking up and down those little stairs as if your life depended on it! Nothing could take you away from your task, especially not my calling out to you to look at me while I took your picture. This was as good as we got, but at least it was good :).

19 responses »

  1. The park is always a great place to get playful shots of your kids.
    The first one just made me melt. Hannah is such a devoted sister.
    I know I say this every day but you are doing SO well with this project!

  2. Your photos are just beautiful. They have a really light and colorful feel about them that just make you smile. Are you editing them or are you just avreally good photographer? ;))))) thank you for your comments on my blog! 🙂

    • Thank you for your lovely comment! I use a very basic editor program that came with the computer, in windows I think?! I do have photoshop on my old computer but I rarely use it these days.

    • It’s wonderful isn’t it! I love this project, so glad I decided to commit. I am also keep a daily grateful journal and it has been a great way of taking time to stop and appreciate the little things in life 🙂

  3. Oh golly – I’m repeating everyone else here but your kids are divine! i I love the last action shot of Blake – it really captures the concentration and movement.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

