073/366

Standard

Today the March photo-a-day prompt was A Sign and I knew exactly what I wanted to capture.

Blake has been giving me a sign and asking for “Milk” for about a month now and it is just the sweetest thing. He points to my chest like in the photo below so I ask him if he wants “Milk”, and he says “Mmm, Muk” with this pleading look in his eye. I then proceed to breastfeed him and he is so happy.

I am incredibly grateful to still be breatsfeeding my little man into toddlerhood. I am sure some of you will get sick of me talking about it and saying how wonderful it is (although it does have it’s challenging moments of-course) but truly, I am proud. I am proud I followed my heart and my instincts. I am proud that I researched the heck out of breastfeeding, the how’s and the why’s and overcame my fears. I am proud that I didn’t let my bad experience with Hannah determine my future breastfeeding relationships and that I let go of my guilt in order to fully accept a new experience with my new baby. I will always wish I could have experienced this with Hannah but I know if I hadn’t had that time with her then I wouldn’t be the person I am today with the knowledge that I have. Everything happens for a reason.

(Photo by my wonderfully supportive lactivist hubby ;))

About hippyhappymama

I am a wife and a mama to 3 delicious children, Hannah (31-08-2008), Blake (12-10-2010) and Daisy (11/08/2013). I am in love with my family, writing, photography, travel, and all things related to active birth and natural parenting.

15 responses »

  1. I am SO proud of you Andi. For all the reasons you have stated and for the fact that you openly share your thoughts on breastfeeding, whether it be the challenges or the joys. Breastfeeding can be just that; painful lows and unforgettable highs. You have been on both sides and your different experiences with Hannah and Blake have made you the mother you are. You deserve to feel immense pride in this area of your life. You have allowed your journey with Hannah to be a growth area in your life, rather than a regret. I have nothing but complete admiration for the way you reflect on both your breastfeeding relationships.

    High five to Blake for the signing! Such a clever little guy 🙂

    • Amber. Thank you. You have been such a wonderful support and inspiration to me. I remember when we met up in Caloundra and you saw Blake was feeding and you were soo excited for me that it was all going so well. You don’t know how much that meant to me.

      I am kinda glad you don’t live up the road because I would be running to your house every single day and just wanting to be with you, in your presence. I sound like a freaky stalker now. hehehe

      You’re wonderful xx

      • I remember seeing you feed Blake at the park and feeling so happy for you. Not only because you were actually doing it, but because you (and Blake) looked so comfortable and at ease. It was a lovely sight, especially when I knew your breastfeeding history.

        Hee, hee. We would probably BOTH be in each other’s pockets if we lived close by 😉

  2. What a beautiful photo and post! I struggled to make six months with Avie – PND played the part, but I am hoping for the next one to go breastfeeding for longer. I see and read all these amazing moments and bonds, and just hope next time it will be like that for me.
    P.s LOVE the signing, hopefully I can do that next time too 🙂

    • Angie, I think making to 6 months with PND is amazing. I had a little taste of it after Blake was born and it is so difficult. I am very happy to read your wonderfully positive posts recently, you sound full of joy. I hope one day you can share the darker times too, I’m sure a lot of people would find that helpful xx

  3. Such a beautiful post and I completely understand where you are coming from. I had a great experience with Ruby and fed her until she was 20mths however, I have just stopped with Tilly (15mths) because she wasn’t sleeping or eating anything else. I do miss it though and I know she does too as even though it has been 3 weeks now she still looks for my breast 😦 Such a hard decision to make but since stopping she eats so much now and sleeps all night and for hours during the day. I guess eventually my longing for that closeness and the guilt will fade 😦 Sleep helps though.

    • Oh Belinda, I can relate. Blake still wakes many times a night and he never eats much breakfast (because he has a feed when he wakes up lol) and I know that the breastfeeding plays a big part in that. I guess because of my experience with Hannah I don’t know if I could make the decision to wean but then I wonder if I am holding him back when I read that Tilly is now sleeping and eating so well…. How did you wean?

  4. Yes you should be proud. I would have loved to have even made it to 6 months with my first two. But I was so proud of making it to 7/12 months with Connor. If I ever have another I will be endeavoring to make it longer. A beautiful moment between you both. Well done Mumma 🙂 And Blake for being such a good feeder.

    • Any and all breastmilk you baby has is so beneficial. I remember reading an article with those words in it and I felt relief that at least Hannah had 7 days of breastmilk and at that stage I had been feeding Blake for a few months. I was thrilled to make it to 6 months so I know how you feel, it’s a great milestone to get to!

      Blake feeds on demand and it is hard work, but for me it was the only way to ensure I had enough supply to sustain him as he grew older.

      I sure hope you have more babies, you guys make gorgeous children Sharon. I love hearing about bigger families :)!

      • Oh thank you so much for your reply. I hope one day maybe at the next gathering I can hear more about your story with Hannah and I can get tips (that’s if there is another 😉 about how you kept going with Blake..

  5. Wow, good on you Andrea!!! How beautiful is that BFing relationship, and Im super impressed and inspired that you decided to learn from one experience (which I would be interested to know more about how that all transpired, sounds like it was very tough) to grow and push even more the next time. Often one hard BFing experience means people dont have the confidence to try again – so GO YOU, MAMA!!!! Im sure your story will inspire and help many. Just beautiful! Of course the bond you have with both your kids is more than based on just BFing (obviously – look at your precious relationship w your sweet girl), its just gorgeous that you can experience extended BFing w Blake. soak it all up and enjoy! you should well be proud of yourself xx

    • Thank you for SUCH a lovely comment Kate :). I have not added Hannah’s birth story or her early times to the blog yet and I have been thinking to do a bit of a series in time for Mother’s Day…. she was obviously the baby to really make me a mama so it seems appropriate. Thank you for always been such a supporter of my blog Kate xx

  6. This is a wonderful post, Andi! I think it’s great that you share your experience, I’m sure it encourages other moms having a hard time. Unfortunately, no one mentions how hard getting started w bfing can be and there’s a lot of misinformation out there, which makes it even harder for new moms.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

