082/366

Standard

Today, I am grateful. For this.

I couldn’t have wished for a better relationship between my children. I couldn’t have imagined how much they would love each other.

I read an article recently that discussed what age gaps are best between children, and they deduced that 20 months was the ideal gap. We have almost 26 months between Hannah and Blake and though we didn’t plan it that way (we were hoping for another baby almost from the moment that Hannah was born), it does suit our family perfectly. That being said, I don’t really think age gaps account for much. I think the personalities of the children have a much stronger effect on how well their relationship develops. I am fortunate that Hannah is a very nurturing and caring soul who has always loved babies and other children and that Blake is very easy-going and enjoys learning from Hannah.

I was 2 years and 9 months older than my little brother and I can see many similarities between Hannah and Blake’s relationship that mirror my own with my brother when we were small. I used to make all the decsions – which games we would play and which toys we would play with. He simply followed along, seemingly happy to just be playing alongside me. We often played with dolls, rarely with cars, but I don’t think he was too scared for the experience! I see Hannah play with Blake the same way, although I wonder how long before he puts an end to all the following and begins to be more of a leader? Maybe it won’t happen for quite a while and they will be content with the beautiful friendship they have created over the last 18 months for some time to come :). Whatever happens, I know the joy that I get from seeing this every day will never fade.

Oh Hannah. You are only 3 and a half but you are already so willing to help Blake when he needs it and to share your toys and food. You taught him how to ride this push-on, telling him to ‘Push, Push’ and to follow you as he watched you ride down the hall. You were so proud of him when he finally managed to learn to push forward with his feet, calling out ‘Blake, you did it, you did it!’. In that moment, I was incredibly proud of you. xx

Look at your face little boy! You adore your big sister, she is the light of your life. You look up to her and trust her completely and you are constantly learning from her. This week you learned how to ride forward on your push-on toy and it was all from following your big sister. Watching you two crazy kids scoot up and down the hall-way is a delight and your face proves that you were having an absolute blast together.

About hippyhappymama

I am a wife and a mama to 3 delicious children, Hannah (31-08-2008), Blake (12-10-2010) and Daisy (11/08/2013). I am in love with my family, writing, photography, travel, and all things related to active birth and natural parenting.

15 responses »

  1. oh yes Andrea – im pleased to say i know EXACTLY how you feel!!! except my own sibling relationships were not as smooth, so it truly melts my heart to see my two love each other so fiercely and i am sooooo determined to do all I can do preserve it! Anyway – gorgeous shots and I just love how doting Hannah is in teaching him. I think the older sis/young bro combo is just perfect for this huh… they are such sweethearts!! Beautiful post!

  2. Beautiful! Has Hannah never had a haircut? I LOVE it when mama’s don’t cut their little girl’s hair (when possible! I know they don’t like having it combed!). It looks so wild and beautiful in these photos.

    • Yep, her hair has never been cut! It is hard to manage sometimes but she is used to it now. On some occasions she even lets me plait it and then I feel very special indeed. But most of the time this is Hannah, walking around in her undies with her hair wild and unruly!

    • Oh Megan thank you! I don’t want to make you cry but gosh, the love I feel for these kids, it is really too much to contain sometimes! I try not to get too gushy too often 😉

  3. I think your ‘gushy’ words are wonderful! I try to do it then end up deleting half my post because it just doesn’t seem to come out right. I think you write beautifully and Hannah and Blake will love reading what you’ve written one day. How blessed you are that they get on so well – I also love the moments of love between my kids – just makes my heart melt too.

    • Oh thank you! It is always a bit hard to press publish and put your thoughts out there isn’t it?! But this time between the kiddies made me feel so reflective I just had to write about it 🙂

  4. Your words + pictures = beautiful.
    Your pictures always show what a team your two are. You are doing a wonderful job Andi, nurturing this very special relationship.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

