084/366

Standard

The reason we went to Sydney was to meet up with about 15 beautiful women and their families. I had not met most of these women in real life before, but I knew them and they knew me. Blake was the catalyst for my getting to know such wonderful women that I have been chatting to for over 2 years now.

When I became pregnant with Blake I joined a ‘Due in October 2010’ group hosted by the Essential Baby parenting forum with other women due at the same time as me. After 9 months of talking and getting to know each other (we were one of the chattiest groups ever, going through a hundred pages of replies in just days!) we moved to a private facebook group and 40 of us are still chatting today while our babies keep growing at record speed.

I have met a fair few women from the group who either live near me in Brisbane or have been here on holidays, but this time I was to meet a major portion of the group and we were so excited. I don’t think Blake knew what all the fuss was about but I can tell you I have sure appreciated the wisdom, knowledge and support these women have shared with me over such a long amount of time, especially on an internet group! The most beautiful thing about the meet-up was that all the women that I had not met yet were just as wonderful in real life as they are online! Real, genuine, authentic women raising their babies brilliantly! I hope the meet more of the women who make our group so fabulous one day, but for now just having them on the other end of the computer means more to me than words can say.

About hippyhappymama

I am a wife and a mama to 3 delicious children, Hannah (31-08-2008), Blake (12-10-2010) and Daisy (11/08/2013). I am in love with my family, writing, photography, travel, and all things related to active birth and natural parenting.

3 responses »

  1. that is SOOOO fabulous that you travelled all the way to sydney for such a reunion – i love it!!! As we well know, online friends become friends of the heart in amazing way these days – your group sounds wonderful and it must have been such a blessing to meet them all in the flesh – how cool!!

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

