Dearest Hannah, on your 5th birthday…

Standard

Dearest Hannah,

My girl.

My dearest, darling daughter.

All Rights Reserved

How blessed I am to be your mama.

I always felt that I would enjoy parenting you during this age and I was right. I love your independance, your capacity for speech and story-telling, your seriously strong desire to learn and constantly improve, and your keen interest in the world around us. You impress me and make me smile each and every day. You really are something special.

You are turning 5 Hannah. Oh how has it been 5 years already since you slipped into the world? You are growing up. Faster than I could have imagined you are growing into the girl you were always meant to be. You are thoughtful, helpful, caring, affectionate, indpendent, compassionate, clever, sweet, friendly and such a joy to be around. I am so proud of you all the time, there is nothing more that you could do to make me happier to be travelling alongside this journey with you.

All Rights Reserved

Since your baby sister was born it has taken me back in time five years to when you were a newborn. It’s made me ache to hold your little body in my arms one more time and see your sweet baby smiles. There is just something so magic about that time because it is so fleeting. If you have the chance to hold your own child in your arms one day, memorise that early time. Imprint it in your brain with a fierceness no time can erase. They really will be some of the most precious memories you make.

All Rights Reserved

I wish you could remember that time. It was just you and I most days, at home alone together. I used to walk around with you singing to you… ‘You are my sunshine, my only sunshine, you make me happy, when skies are grey…’. As each day and month and year passed, you were always brightening my day, guiding me forward, making me into a mother and changing me with your love.

The last 5 years with you have been amazing Hannah. But sometimes I have days where I feel I did nothing and I achieved nothing, and yet when that day is over my sentimental heart aches to begin again, to make sure I include at least one extra kiss, one extra cuddle, one extra I Love You. I am forever grateful for having you in my life my darling daughter so I want you to remember that even though it might not feel like it in every moment, it is always, always true – my heart will never stop loving you…

Love Always,
Mama xx

042 (2)

About hippyhappymama

I am a wife and a mama to 3 delicious children, Hannah (31-08-2008), Blake (12-10-2010) and Daisy (11/08/2013). I am in love with my family, writing, photography, travel, and all things related to active birth and natural parenting.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

