January Photo A Day Grateful Project – Day 5

Standard

All Rights Reserved

On the day we moved to Australia, my brother and I rushed across the road in amazement, whooping with joy that we lived so close to the ocean. The town that we had lived in in Croatia was a good 4 hour drive from the sea and as beautiful as the Croatian coastline is, it wasn’t this massive expanse of deep blue ocean that I saw before me that day. And although we still live close to the beach, it never ceases to amaze me when I stand with my feet in the water and feel the pull and push of the waves how wonderous it is. It’s a feast for the senses; the sight of those pummelling waves, the feel of the cold water as it rushes past my skin and the sand trickles between my toes, the sound of the wind whistling furiously in my ears and the taste of that salt that never escapes my mouth no matter whether I’ve actually been swimming or not.

Everytime I’m at the beach I am grateful that my children have the opportunity to live so close and to enjoy the sea on a much more frequent basis than I did as a child. Today Daisy had her first experience with the ocean and at Surfers Paradise no less. We had been to our local beach a few times but we hadn’t really taken her for a dip. Today her little toes were able to feel the ocean for the first time and I know, just like the rest of us, she thought it was amazing.

About hippyhappymama

I am a wife and a mama to 3 delicious children, Hannah (31-08-2008), Blake (12-10-2010) and Daisy (11/08/2013). I am in love with my family, writing, photography, travel, and all things related to active birth and natural parenting.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

