January Photo A Day Grateful Project – Day 8

Standard

All Rights Reserved

Anyone who knows me, knows I love op-shopping. It’s one of my favourite things to do.

Actually, it’s like a little addiction. I look forward to going, to see what I can score, and I get a little thrill from spending $50 and getting bags and bags of great stuff for so cheap.

I don’t get to op-shop as much as I would like these days, but my parents live conveniently close to quite a few and because those shops are in such close proximity to each other it makes it easier to go there with the kids. I never feel guilty about the spending I do at op-shops. I know I wouldn’t be able to find half the stuff I buy there at regular stores and they’re a great place to find home-schooling resources if I think creatively. Even though they’re much more expensive now than when my Dad and I first started going op-shopping together when I was in my teens, there are still plenty of times I get a great bargain.

This particular shop and I go way back. I’ve been shopping here since before I was pregnant with Hannah. Quite a lot of my kids clothes have come from this store and they have a particularly awesome book section. I’m pretty sure they have cultivated their parenting//lifestyle section just for me! If I ever want to read a book about a specific parenting/pregnancy or birth topic I just think about it and 90 percent of the time when I come to this op-shop I find the perfect book on its shelves…! Today I was grateful to come home with a bag bursting with books including one about unschooling – exactly what I was hoping to find.

2 responses »

  1. I love op shopping, I just wished I had more time to browse them, and used book stores!!! I love finding a childhood favourite book for cheap and sharing the stories with my girls.

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

