January Photo A Day Grateful Project – Day 23

Standard

All Rights Reserved

This dress is one of the first I bought for our dress-ups collection back when Hannah wasn’t even walking. It cost me $1.50 and it looks to be (poorly!) homemade but perfect for dressing up.

My parents have a photo on their fridge of Hannah wearing this dress as a toddler. I hadn’t seen any of the kids who so often raid our dress-ups actually pull it out and put it on for years! But Hannah found it again recently and has fallen in love. I showed her the photo of her little baby self wearing it and she smiled but of-course she did not remember.

I remember.

I remember those little legs walking, wandering, exploring our garden in the soft afternoon sunlight as I ran around taking photos and making silly noises in an attempt to make you smile. I remember how your hair didn’t even touch your shoulders and how it felt to have only you at our table for dinner and only you to cuddle in bed at night. I remember how that dress almost touched your ankles and now doesn’t even reach your knees and although you’re growing faster than I had ever imagined, I am grateful for this simple dress and the memories it brings me.

One response »

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

