January Photo A Day Grateful Project – Day 28

Standard

All Rights Reserved

The poem below seemed to fit perfectly with today’s photo when Hannah and Blake gave me my own Dandelion bouquet.

 

If I don’t have time to cuddle that warm, pajamas-clad body with glorious bedhead first thing in the morning,

If I don’t have time to press my lips upon the cheek of the man I love at nighttime,

Then I have to ask.

If I don’t have time to call my aging parent for a quick check-in,

If I don’t have time to offer a smile to the weary cashier at check-out,

Then I have to ask.

If don’t have time to listen, really listen, to what my child has to tell me from the backseat of the car,

If I don’t have time to tell her all the things I love about her from edge of her bed,

Then I have to ask …

What DO I have time for?

Clearing the inbox
Scrolling the newsfeed
Cleaning the kitchen counter ‘til it shines?

Buying things I don’t need
Saying yes because I can’t say no
Filling my days ‘til my calendar overflows?

I have to ask …

What DO I think makes life worth living?

I know. I know.

It’s the pajamas cuddles,
It’s the nighttime kisses,
It’s knowing I said, “I love you,” just in case my parent’s ripe old age catches up with him today.

It’s the dandelion bouquets,
It’s the uncontrollable laughter,
It’s the worries my child confesses at the most inconvenient times.

Please let me not be too busy,
Too rushed,
Too impatient,
Too distracted,
To experience these moments—these moments that make life worth living.

Don’t let me place life’s most pressing matters over the moments that matter most in life.

If there isn’t enough time to live, then I need to ask myself what I am living for?

© Rachel Macy Stafford 2014 https://www.facebook.com/TheHandsFreeRevolution?fref=ts

I love to hear your thoughts, feel free to leave a comment :)

